Saturday, June 26, 2010

Vintage sleaze on the way from Lawrence Block & Donald E. Westlake!

In October, Subterranean Press will publish an omnibus containing the three "adults only" novels jointly written by Lawrence Block & Donald E. Westlake. Titled Hellcats and Honeygirls, this 400-page collection will include A Girl Called Honey (Midwood, 1960) and So Willing (Midwood, 1960) -- written by "Sheldon Lord" (Block) and "Alan Marshall" (Westlake) -- as well as Sin Hellcat (Nightstand, 1962), which was credited to "Andrew Shaw." All three have been out of print for nearly five decades.

Hellcats and Honeygirls
by Lawrence Block & Donald E. Westlake
(pre-order for October 2010)

Dust Jacket Illustration by Glenn Orbik

Trade: $30
ISBN: 978-1-59606-303-7
Length: 400 pages

Meanwhile, one of Westlake's sexy solo quickies from the same period has recently resurfaced in a digital format. The novel is called Campus Doll (Monarch, 1961), it was originally credited to "Edwin West," and if you have an Amazon Kindle reader it's available for download HERE for only $5.99.


dfordoom said...

With those kinds of books I've always wondered - could they possibly live up to those wonderful lurid covers? I guess I should check these ones out and find out for myself.

DJ Capybara said...

Zoinks! I hadn't heard of that! Will definitely be on the lookout. 2 of my favoritest authors.